The Wright Stuff.

wright_falling_water

OK, so integrating art into your classroom is a no-brainer, but how do you integrate architecture. After all, we’ll hear a lot more about it today when we take the Chicago Architecture Foundation boat tour.

PS Just in case you’re wondering, the above picture is of Falling Water, the house outside Pittsburgh which is widely acknowledged to be Frank Lloyd Wright’s greatest masterpiece.

12 responses to “The Wright Stuff.

  1. So, when do we go?

  2. David Hazlett

    I put in my blog that when I win the Powerball lottery this will be my dream house. I think it is possible to incorporate architecture into lessons. You can address the changing styles of buildings (and other structures) and easily incorporate that with changing industrialization and technology. Iron and steel allow us to build up, not out. Elevators facilitate this upward movement. Suspension bridges allow us to connect greater distances and that allows for greater movement. If anyone has extra cash I can start the Falling Water purchase fund.

  3. I think architecture is art; therefore, I will just incorporate it as another medium of art. Architecture isn’t something I really thought of exposing my students to until this trip. After taking the architecture tour, I would like to take my students on an architecture walk and/or bus ride through Swink and/or La Junta. I think in this case, my rural area students miss out because we are too small to have really massive buildings with detailed columns.

  4. Architecture is definitely a form of art. That is a no-brainer. Integrating architecture into my lessons is more difficult but perhaps not impossible. Didn’t the pioneers who lived out in the prairies incorporate the materials and lay of the land into their sodbuster homes? The homes were fairly quick and easy to build (perhaps into a hillside?), were insulated on the roof by…..the sod, and the walls by the dirt. Once they built their wood homes, the original home was used as a root cellar of sorts. Also, back to the Native American Indians…the Southwest used Pueblos, the Plains used teepees, the Eastern Woodlands built longhouses, the Northwest built plank homes. All of these people used the resources of the area and designed structures that meet the needs of the people and the environment. Do modern builders of suburbia do that? Or do they just keep doing things the same way?

  5. crystalcampbell

    I plan on using architecture in my class as part of my lesson on compare and contrast of our areas, but I think I will also use it in other areas. I would like to incorporate it into a lesson on vertical and horizatal lines as that is part of my teaching material.

  6. I am going to use architecture in my class when we build the columns, ionic, doric, and corinthian. I am also using art when we create the “graffiti frieze” that we will place in the arch that will be placed on the wall. I am also going to have the students build a Roman home complete with the atrium, Tablinum (entry room) Cubicula (bedroom) and many other feathers like fountains and the roof styles. I am considering obtaining a willing architect to come in and teach the students how to design a home.

  7. While referencing architecture, the Boston trip was a fabulous example of the changes in architecture throughout various historical periods. I’ve used the pictures from that trip in small vignette style throughout history class to help students open their eyes to the world around. It’s amazing how they begin to notice the architecture within Pueblo and bring that into discussion in the classroom.

  8. Becky Valencia

    I am planning on doing my lesson on Frank Lloyd Wright and Architecture. I’ve I mentioned several times in other blogs, I am under a “directive” of sorts to incorporate art in to my class. I think this is a perfect example of how that can be done. I am really looking forward to the creative aspect of my project to see what the kids come up with!

  9. history591seven

    I am planning on doing my lesson plan on gardens, school yard gardens, victory gardens, and current gardens like the one that Michelle recently planted on the White House lawn. I would like to show how they have been used throughout history, as well, as gather more information about heirloom seeds and use the Hull House as one example of urban gardens and its contribution to society. I will have my students create a school yard garden as most of them haven’t been to a farm or planted a garden. I think this will be a fun and informative lesson plan. Sherri

  10. meherun nesa

    beautiful architecture,I’m inspired…..

  11. Wright’s masterpiece is in art of the field.its simply states a green living

  12. I have to do a hard stupid poem on thisssss!!!!!:(. Ugh

Leave a Reply

