Jeffersonian Agrarianism–Amish Style (Harris)

I felt like I was stuck in a time warp today.  Abner and Katie’s farm reminded me of a more pristine time when there were no video games, cell phones, televisions–in short, no distractions.  I think theirs is a rich and blessed life, even if they don’t have the modern conveniences we have.  Our visit also reminded me of what Jefferson wrote in his famous Notes on the State of Virginia, the only book he ever wrote.  “Those who labor in the earth are the chosen people of God, if ever he had a chosen people.”  This was Jefferson’s way of saying that farmers are industrious, thrify, independent, and frugal–all the virtues that he thought were necessary for a strong and vibrant republic.  Abner and Katie and their lovely children reminded me that Jefferson’s dream is still alive and well today, if only in small doses.

6 responses to “Jeffersonian Agrarianism–Amish Style (Harris)

  1. history591fifteen

    I absolutely and completely agree with you- it sure does make me rethink my lifestyle and how much better a simpler life could be. What a breath of fresh air- thank you for a wonderful day!
    Lauren

  2. crystalcampbell

    Thank you for an amazing day. I really thought I “knew” about the Amish people and their way of life and I really had no clue! I saw so many things I could talk to my students about and help them see that these are real people with real lives doing things just a little different, not better or worse, then we do!

  3. history591twenty1

    Hello,

    I was curious when they said that every farm was 80 acres if they were following Thomas Jefferson’s ideal farm of 160 acres? I don’t have my books with me or I would have checked.

    Delphine

  4. history591twenty9

    Matt,
    That was an excellent intrepetation of yesterday’s visit. I would never have made that connect on my own, but it absolutely fits! How much richer their life must be without the distractions of modern gadgits to distract them. Boy, I don’t know if I could do it. We are all so used to & accustiomed to the “modern” world.

    King Hutch aka John H.

  5. stacirodosevich

    Matt,
    Thank you for the wonderful trip to the Amish country. It truly is God’s country! Makes one look at his/her own life and see if maybe we have gotten off the beaten path! It was an experience I will never forget!
    Staci

  6. history591eighteen

    Matt – I can’t thank you enough for arranging this experience. There are so many misconceptions and falsehoods about the Amish out there, it was truly a blessing to meet and spend time with them. Abner and Katie are truly blessed. I envy them; such a beautiful home, phenomenal children and they just exude peace. I can’t get over how young they looked; to me that shows a stress free life.

    Becky

Leave a Reply

