Lesson Plan Topics

Here is the list of people who have sent me the topic of their papers as I requested in our last meeting last week this time:

Kelli Archuletta – Declaration of Independence (Middle)

Ryan Christenson – Declaration of Independence (High School)

Lawrence DeHerrera – Captivity Narratives (Middle)

Lauren Gonzales – Sons of Liberty (Middle)

Duane Grasmick – Salem Witch Trials (Unspecified)

Delphine Grayson – Declaration of Indepedendence (HS)

David Hazlett – French and Indian War (Unspecified)

John Hutchins – Declaration of Independence (Middle)

Curt Lukassen – Lowell (HS)

Kris Jones – Boston Massacre (Middle)

Nancy Oswald – Lexington and Concord (Elementary)

Connie Prewitt – Boston Massacre (Unspecified)

Marie Schwager – Homelife in Colonial America (Unspecified)

Amanda Trujillo – Salem Witch Trials (Middle)

John Ward – Paul Revere’s Ride (HS)

Sherri Ward – Boston Tea Party (Elementary)

The word in paretheses is the grade level you teach if you specified it in your e-mail.

Looking at the list, I am immediately struck by the number of you who want to do the same topic and the number of you who didn’t follow the instructions and haven’t sent me anything. I have the same solution for both these problems: blogging. [I can hear Linda wrenching in pain as she reads this right now.] It’s very simple. If you haven’t sent me an e-mail, you have to pick a topic not up there and post it, along with the documents you plan to use. Your deadline for this is July 15th or you will fail the assignmenbt.

If your topic is up there and you want to keep it, do the same. In fact, if you want a new one do the same thing too. I will cut you two breaks: 1. Two people can do the same topic if they teach different grade levels (although ideally all the lessons will be adaptable to all grade levels) and 2. Two people can do the same topic if they use completely different documents (and I’ll make an exception for the Second Continental Congress version of the Declaration of Independence).

By posting your intentions on your blogs, you can work out your similarities amongst yourselves. And don’t try to bring me in on it either. I am fleeing the country until after said July 4th holiday and Matt is in seclusion until even longer. [I’d tell you where he is, but then I’d have to kill you.]

Remember, if you don’t know someone’s e-mail, they’ll get an e-mail notification if you post on their blog. Technology can solve all our problems!

28 responses to “Lesson Plan Topics

  1. history591eighteen

    Jonathan – I sent you an email before we left Boston with my topic of the Declaration of Independence for the middle school level, which I see is now taken.

    Please let me know if I can still use this topic as I have already started the lesson. Since I hadn’t heard from you since the trip I assumed it was ok.

    Becky Valencia

  2. Jonathan Rees

    Becky:

    Even if I had remembered your comment, you would still have this problem. I don’t want to be topic cop. Post your documents and work it out amongst the other Declaration of Independence people listed above.

  3. history591twenty1

    I am changing my topic from the Declaration of Independence to King Phillip’s War (high school).

    Delphine

  4. history591four

    I am still doing Lexington and Concord. I plan to use the soldier’s depositions and the Doolittle Prints. I am still researching an may include an account by Hannah Bradish, plus Paul Revere’s statement. I’m on dial up, so some of this is taking forever to find.

    Nancy

  5. history591seventeen

    Jonathan,
    I am still planning on doing my lesson on the artifact the Great Chair. I will add my other artifact after I find it.
    Dana

  6. My lesson will be on the mill girls of Lowell, elementary school level.
    Kris Allen

  7. history591two

    I sent an e-mail earlier. However, this is somewhat modified. I am planning on doing my lesson on how the introduction of European livestock affected the relationship between colonists and native people.

    Linda Miller

  8. history591twenty9

    Jonathan,

    This seems to have put many of us in a bad situation. I sent you an e-mail with my own & Ryan’s topics right after our meeting on Sat. morning in Salem (I discussed Ryan & myself each doing the declaration from different perspectives). I also tried to discuss it with you on the plane. Since I didn’t hear anything back from you I figured that it was OK. I have since talked to Kelli and found out she is working on the Declaration too.

    I’m sure everyone else is in the same situation that I am right now. None of us can afford to wait until the last minute if we want to do quality work. So I, and I’m sure everyone else, began working on these lesson as soon as we got back. Since it was a full week without hearing from you on the subject, I have too much work invested to drop my topic now. And I know Kelli & Ryan & Becky (see post # 1)are in the same situation!

    I have been in touch with Kelli & Ryan and they agree with me on the following points:

    1. That we are each doing a different lesson on the Declaration from a different perspective, focused on different goals & assessments.

    2. That we teach different grades at different schools in different districts. The required scope & sequence is different for each of us.

    3. That if we each did a lesson on the Declaration using our own perspectives and individual teacher strenghts and focus on our own school’s needs, the resulting work could be the start to a fantastic Unit on the Declaration of Independence!

    please let me know what you think. But it seems to me that each of these lessons will be extremely different from the others.

    Thank, John H.

    PS I plan to use several versions of the declaration to show the differences. I plan on focusing on vocabulary words that we don’t use much anymore. And I plan on breaking the Declaration into sections with groups of students reworking & rewriting these sections into a document that uses today’s lauguage. At least that is my plan right now.

    we have been in touch over the phone and via e-mail. Kelli has copies of our discussions if you would like documentation.

  9. Jonathan,

    I just wanted to send a quick note to let you know that John, Kelli, and I have been talking about our topics and feel that we are all taking different routes on it. We also believe having more than one lesson plan will only inhance our own in the future. We all have great ideas that can come together to help make a difference! Other teachers will also have the opportunity to use different plans to make the one that fits their style! I hope you understand where we are at and that everything is able to work out. I think most of us have started to do most of our research and planning for the assignment. It would be tough to change now! Thanks Ryan C.

  10. history591fifteen

    Jonathan-
    I am still doing the protests done by the Sons of Liberty and their contributions to the Rev War.
    Lauren

  11. history591twelve

    Jonathan,
    I am still doing the French and Indian War for the high school level.
    1st Order Document:
    Rodert Dinwiddie’s letter Saint Pierre
    asking the French to leave the Ohio
    Valley.
    2nd Order Documents:
    Maps of North America showing
    conflicting claims.
    3rd Order Documents:
    Students will be directed toward –
    additional maps, captive narratives
    showing prior conflicts, journals of
    Cristopher Gist
    I do not see anyone else with this topic, so duplicate documents does not appear to be a problem.
    David H.

  12. history591seven

    Hey Jonathan,

    I spoke with Dave Buckalew yesterday, and he is going to do his lesson plan on The Boston Tea Party. I am changing mine to the Mayflower Compact. Thanks, Sherri

  13. Jonathan,

    I will be doing my lesson plan on “Growing up in Colonial America,

    A child’s perspepective. A day in the life of a child in Colonial America.

    1st order Document: John Adams Diary that he started when he was 11 years old: Source of the document the Massachusetts historical society website.

    2nd order: There are other documents and letters both on that website and some of the other ones we were told about on the trip
    Middle school level Brian Repola

  14. history591six

    I still plan on doing the Boston Masssacre (elementary). I have not been able to access MHS site as my access code/directions are in box of books shipped from Boston which has not yet arrived. If the primary sources for Boston Massacre are not what I expect, I would like to consider Paul Revere’s Ride (elementary). Those are available.

    Connie

  15. history591eighteen

    Talked with others with topic of Declaration and our general consensus is that we all teach different grade levels and are using different documents and activities, so I am sticking with it.

    I have an activity already created that helps the students understand why the
    colonists were upset with decisions being made for them. It’s cheesy but a lot of fun. Then we will do some vocabulary with the document itself, but not real in depth. We will create a timeline showing “events” leading up to the Declaration. Then they will write a response from the British to the colonists on the Declaration. Then I will have students write their own
    version of the declaration using the original as a guide as well at the
    Virginia Declaration of Independence and maybe one or two others.

    Becky Valencia

  16. history591eight

    Matt & Jonathan,
    Those of us with the Declaration of Independence topic have discussed our various plans and have decided to continue with our plans. Each of us, although using the same general topic, are each addressing this topic from very different vantage points, with extremely different documents to support our plans, and very different activities. In the final analysis, we deduced that someone might take the amalgum of our individual works and create the basis of an incredible unit to study the Declaration. Our decision, was to continue as each of us had planned.

    Kelli Archuleta

  17. history591twenty3

    Jonathan,

    I thought of doing the Boston Tea Party but noticed that Sherri has selected this. I am going to work on Bunker Hill (High School).
    Dolores Ballejo

  18. history591seventeen

    Jonathan,
    My lesson will explore the hierarchy of different cultures- Plymouth (Pilgrims) colonists, The Wampanoag People, and Pueblo and Navajo People-by comparing Patriarchy, Matriarchy and Egalitarian societies with the use of artifacts (the Great Chair, the Bark Home, and the Teepee)

    (middle school level)
    Dana

  19. history591twenty9

    Dr. Rees,

    I sent you a comment on wordpress about doing the Declaration of Independence but it disappeared. I have talked/communicated via e-mail & blogged with the others and we all agree that since we teach different grades and we each plan to go in different directions with our lessons, that we feel like we should be allowed to each do the Declaration. And if these lessons are as good as they sound when I’m talking to the others, I think they will make a fantastic unit on the Declaration. I’ve already started my lesson, in fact it is about 2/3 complete. I began it a couple of days after returning from Boston because I wanted to get started so that I can turn in a quality assignment.

    Please e-mail back with your thoughts or suggestions. I will try to post this again on wordpress, but since the last MESSAGE DISAPPEARED, I AM SENDING IT as an e-mail also.

    Thank You,
    John Hutchins

  20. history591twenty3

    Jonathan,
    I keep sending a message through this and it does not appear. I will keep trying.
    I am going to work on the Battle of Bunker Hill.
    Dolores Ballejo

  21. history591seven

    For the lesson on the Mayflower Compact, I will use the following:

    1st order document will be Bradford’s journal entry of the Compact.

    2nd order documents will be Mourt’s version of the Compact with signatures. I will also have maps of the area. One map, will have the Indian names and one will be of the time when the Mayflower landed and the other will be of the 13 colonies.

    3rd order – Students will be asked to write their own Compact for our 3rd grade classroom.

    Thanks!

  22. history591seven

    Sorry, I forgot to sign my name on the comment above. Sherri Ward

  23. history591sixteen

    Jonathan, do you know when and where we can take the post test?

  24. history591two

    Believe it or not, I did actually list primary sources on my blog. To make sure you have this list, I’ll leave it here also.

    first-order primary source:
    “Mourt’s Relation: A Journal of the Pilgrims at Plymouth” 1622 by William Bradford and Edward Winslow

    second-order primary sources:
    “A Short and True Description of New England” 1629 by the Rev. Francis Higginson

    “Description of the Indians in New England: 1637 by Thomas Morton

    Linda Miller

  25. history591twenty6

    Hey Jonathan,

    I will be doing my lesson plan on the Boston Massacre. I have placed my primary sources on my blog. Hope that this works.

    Hope you are having a good summer break! (if you got one)

    Janelle

  26. history591nine

    Lawrence DeHerrera
    Topic -Captivity Narratives

    Primary Resources:

    The Spencer Phipps Proclamation
    Mary Jameson Captivity – In her own words
    Hannah Dustins Captivity Narrative
    Eunice Williams Captivity Narrative
    Tecumsehs Speech to the Osage
    “Indians Sorrow” from the Cherokee Phoenix 1828

  27. history591twenty6

    Hey Jonathan,

    I just read the blog that you left me concerning my correlation between the Lowell and CF&I mills. I do understand that they are not the same kind of mill (I of all people should understand that, right?). However the correaltion that I was trying to make was of how each mill was set up and how a town was created because of the mills. Being close to the water, immigrant labor force and the use of labor unions by workers were used by both mills.
    I know that I have an issue with expression and clarification that is why I needed to defend myself. Give me credit, I do know the difference between a steel mill and a textile mill, I took your classes remember ; > )

    Janelle

Leave a Reply

